Why can’t I be ugly?

I was younger, when this question crossed my mind: “Why can’t I be ugly?”

What’s wrong with being ugly?

Yes, some people might generally not be considered attractive (“pretty”, “handsome”, “hot”, “gorgeous”). Some people might be considered unattractive even.

So what?

So what if they’re ugly?

Now what I’m going to rant about, you may not understand.

So what if someone is ugly?

Why must they be offered some consolation? Why must it be that “it’s okay, you’re not THAT ugly” or “what matters is that you’re beautiful on the inside” or “you’re beautiful because you’ve got a beautiful heart”? Why must the person think “why am I so ugly? I wish I was prettier” or “what can I do to make myself look better”?

Why can’t we just live and let be? Can I not just be ugly and leave it at that? Must I get some consolation words? Must I be told that there will be someone for me? Must I be told that it’s okay? Why can’t I know myself that it is?

Let’s say I’m ugly. Let’s leave at that, why don’t we? Must you go on to ridicule me, must it be an offensive or harmful to call me that? Am I already facing some (un)conscious biasness from people around me for being ugly?

Less likely to be offered jobs, less likely to be warmed up to, less likely to wanted be friends with. Now we must go on to make it a big deal?

Maybe I have a good heart, maybe I’m smart. How is that related? There could be someone who finds me attractive, there will be someone who won’t. It’s like that. If I’m ugly, I’m ugly. That’s it.

~

(I don’t think I’m ugly. But even if I do, so what?)

 

[Picture credits: Not mine; found on Google images.]

 

4 comments

  1. Can I say that you just refuted your whole point by the disclaimer at the bottom. “I don’t think I’m ugly.”

    Why was there a need for that disclaimer? Think about it. I am not saying you are ugly and I believe you that you are not. But why did you find a need to claim that you are not? Noone wants to be ugly just like you. Let it be. Personally, I believe no one is ugly.

    Like

    1. I don’t think anyone is ugly either; it’s just how people perceive others individually. I was just ranting, but I think the reason why I wrote it is so that it does not seem like I am… hm, how do I put this properly, “defending” myself? Like, am I saying all of that because I perceive myself as being ugly? It’s me, as who I am, ugly to some, beautiful to others, saying it.

      I don’t know if you get it, but yeah, that’s why. It’s more like a, “let people be ugly, let people be not ugly, whatever”. It was one of my in-the-moment rants that I just think about sometimes. I appreciate your comment tho. Thank you. ♥

      Like

  2. Because the world is obsessed with dichotomies: goodlooking-ugly, poor-rich, old-young, white-black. And assign values to each. Then discriminate against each other. The celebration of our uniqueness is lost.

    Like

Leave a Reply

