My mother

My mother is beautiful. 

She is intelligent, practical, wise, and funny. 

More than that, she is so full of love and care. 

That’s my mother. 
My mother has grown up with her fair share of worries and troubles, and she continues to age with them. The things she has done for us, I cannot even begin to explain. The things she has had to go through, I cannot even begin to understand. 

She doesn’t know how much I appreciate her and how much I love her; yes, she has her flaws as well. 

The way I am now, it is mostly due to her. She has spoilt me and she has pampered with, and I am this strong, stubborn woman today because of the way she has raised me. Unlike the typical Asian parent in my community, she has never spoken of marrying me off, never given me lesser than what she has given my brother. Every share my brother gets, I get equal (even more because I’m younger). She cares about my health, well-being, education, my career, moreso than herself and what she wants. Yes, she complains and is unreasonable sometimes, but I know she’d not do it any other way. 

The way I care for the people I love is the way she cares for those she loves. “Your life is more important than being late to an event,” she’ll tell me when we’re hurrying to cross the road. Even if I’m about to be late for an exam, she tells me the same thing. She gives me the littlest things I like without my asking – chocolates, Coke, French fries, chicken, and whatever not. Gosh, she cares for us so much. She fears my brother’s childhood asthma will come back, and worries over his coughing.

The amount of love, care and dedication she has only makes her truly what a parent has been, is, and should continue to be for their children. 

The sacrifice she’s made, the opportunities she’s missed, she makes me wonder how far she’d have gone had it not been for the way of the world – a woman to become only a wife and a mother. The hardships she has faced, she is so unselfish in not wanting me to face the same. 

My dear mother, you cannot fathom my love and appreciation for you. I only hope to start earning so that I can shower you with gifts and money you deserve, so that I can take you away to a place where you’re happy,  and you can be yourself and not have to worry. 

I love you. And one day, you’ll truly get all the love and care you deserve. Happy mother’s  day. 
[Sorry for this unstructured post; it’s just a flow of feelings.]

Leave a Reply

